Board of Supervisors & Court House
227 South 6th Street
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501

Office Hours

8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday - Friday

Phone Numbers

Office Primary: 712.328.5644
Office Secondary: 712.328.5641
Fax: 712.328.5770

Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors of Pottawattamie County consists of five members, each elected in staggered, four year terms.  Meetings are held every Tuesday, with additional meetings as called by the Chairman.

Current Board Members and Staff

Justin Schultz, Chairman (2020) December 31, 2022
Tim Wichman, Chairman Pro-Tem (2020) December 31, 2020
Scott Belt December 31, 2022
Marilyn Jo Drake December 31, 2020
Lynn Grobe December 31, 2022
Melissa Joslin, Executive Assistant


Duties of the Board of Supervisors

The Boards duties are varied and its authority embraces practically every aspect of County Government. The Board acts as a general business manager for County Government and the following are some of the duties and powers:

  1. Prepares the County Budget, determines tax requirements needed and levies taxes to raise revenue for expenditures.
  2. Appoints and fixes salaries of certain offices, deputies, permanent and temporary help, and fills vacancies in elective county offices, except members of its own body. Vacancies in the Board of Supervisors are filled by appointment made by the County Auditor, County Treasurer and County Recorder.
  3. Establishes policies and provides adequate funding in order to properly maintain the secondary roads system.
  4. Is responsible for certain social welfare programs for the citizens.
  5. Performs a variety of duties relating to agriculture and conservation, including participation in flood and erosion control, appointment of a Conservation Board, establishing drainage districts and zoning of County lands.
  6. Makes official canvass of voters of the County following primary, general and special elections.
  7. All bills paid by the County must be allowed by the Board of Supervisors before payment can be made by the County.
  8. Approve Beer, Liquor and Cigarette licenses, sending these results to the Beer & Liquor Control Department in Ankeny, Iowa, for final approval.

The Board members appoint the following department heads, boards and commissions members:

Animal Control Officer

Board of Health Members

Buildings and Grounds Director

Community Services Director/CPC

Compensation Commission Members

Compensation Board Members

Conservation Director

Conservation Board Members

County Engineer

Information Technologies Director

Medical Examiner

Planning and Zoning Director

Planning and Zoning Commission Members

Veterans Affairs Director

Veteran Affairs Commission Members

Weed Commissioner

Zoning Board of Adjustment Members

Judicial Magistrate Commission Member

Civil Service Commission Member


In the Spotlight

Hope 4 Iowa

The HOPE 4 IOWA Crisis Call Line connects individuals in crisis to a helping hand and the resources to address and improve mental wellness. Available 24/7. For more information visit our website here.








  • 1
  • 2

Pottawattamie County Emergency Notification System

Pottawattamie Alert is the countywide emergency notification system serving all residents within Pottawattamie County and its communities.

Part of the Alert Iowa System, Pottawattamie Alert is a high-speed notification and weather warning service. This no-charge service is available to businesses and residents of Pottawattamie County and its Communities that allows public officials to warn citizens of pending emergencies, critical public information during disasters, recommended protective actions, and provides automated severe weather warnings tailored to your preferences. The system can also be used to provide other important information to communities.