Recorder Boats, ATVs & Snowmobiles

How to register boats, all-terrain vehicles, off-road vehicles, dirt bikes, and snowmobiles

Boats

New and/or transferred vessels are registered with the Pottawattamie County Recorder. All boat registrations will expire on April 30, 2022. Boat registration is valid for three years. A late fee of $5.00 will apply starting on May 1. Boat fees are based on the length and type of the boat. 

Items needed when transferring a boat:

  • Bill of sale
  • The most current registration signed
  • New vessels - Manufacturer's statement of origin
  • The title, if indicated

Before a recreational vehicle or vessel can be registered, a receipt, bill of sale or satisfactory evidence that the sales or use tax has been paid for the purchase of the vehicle must be brought to the Recorder's Office. Sales are subject to 7% if purchased in Iowa and 6% use tax if purchased out of state. 

Renewals can be done at any County Recorder's office. 

Initial registrations need to be in the county the boat is housed at. 

All-Terrain Vehicles, Off-Road Vehicles, Dirt Bikes, & Snowmobiles

New and/or transferred recreational vehicles are registered in Pottawattamie County. ATV, ORV, and snowmobile registrations expire on December 31 of each year. ATVs and ORVs registered since January 2000 and snowmobiles registered since January 1998 must have a title. 

Items needed when transferring an ATV, ORV or snowmobile:

  • Bill of sale
  • The most current registration signed
  • The title, if indicated

Fees are due annually by December 31 without penalty. A $5.00 penalty will apply after January 1. 

Before a recreational vehicle or vessel can be registered a receipt, bill of sale, or satisfactory evidence that the sales or use tax has been paid for the purchase of the vehicle. Sales are subject to 7% if purchased in Iowa and 6% use tax if purchased out of state. 

Resident and nonresident snowmobile operators and nonresident OHV operators must have a user permit to recreate on Iowa's designated riding areas, public lands, and public ice. A user permit can be purchased from your County Recorder. 

Phone (712) 328-5612
Fax: (712) 328-4738
Hours Monday through Friday

8:00am to 3:30pm
Real Estate Filings, Marriage Applications, Passports

8:00am to 4:00pm
Boat, Snowmobile, ATV, Birth, Death & Marriage Records
Location Pottawattamie County Courthouse
Second Floor
227 S 6th St
Council Bluffs, IA 51501