Recorder Trade Names

The Pottawattamie County Recorder's Office records, maintains and retrieves trade names for Sole Proprietorships or Co-Partnerships doing business in Pottawattamie County. All other business services (Corporations, etc.) are handled with the Iowa Secretary of State.

The recording fee for a Trade Name is $7.00 for the first page and $5.00 each additional page. Trade Name Forms are available in our office.

Please refer to the Iowa Code below before filling out the Trade Name. Also, be sure to have your Trade Name notarized before submitting for filing. 

Section 547.1 Use of Trade Name – Verified Statement Required. It shall be unlawful for any person or co-partnership to engage in or conduct a business under any trade name, or any assumed name of any character other than the true surname of each person or persons owning or having any interest in such business, unless such person or persons shall first record with the county recorder of the county in which the business is to be conducted a verified statement showing the name, post office address, and residence address of each person owning or having any interest in the business, and the address where the business is to be conducted.

Section 547.2  Change in Statement.  A like verified statement shall be recorded of any change in ownership of the business, or persons interested therein, or a dissolution of the business, and the original owners shall be liable for all obligations until such certificate of change is recorded.

Section 547.3 Fee for Recording. The county recorder shall charge and receive a fee in the amount specified in section 331.604 for each verified statement recorded under this chapter.

Section 547.4 Penalty.  Any person violating the provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction, be punishable by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not exceeding thirty (30) days.

Section 547.5. “Offense” Defined. Each day that any person or persons violate the provisions of this chapter shall be deemed to be a separate and distinct offense.

Phone (712) 328-5612
Fax: (712) 328-4738
Hours Monday through Friday

8:00am to 3:30pm
Real Estate Filings, Marriage Applications, Passports

8:00am to 4:00pm
Boat, Snowmobile, ATV, Birth, Death & Marriage Records
Location Pottawattamie County Courthouse
Second Floor
227 S 6th St
Council Bluffs, IA 51501